Gallagher Criminal Defense » Crimes » Driving Offenses » Driving After Revocation

Driving After Revocation

driving-after-revocation-taxi-600

Defending a Driving After Revocation ticket:  If Minnesota takes your driver’s license, consult a driver’s license attorney.

After all, you don’t want a Driving After Revocation conviction.

Driving with a suspended, revoked or cancelled license:

  • is a driving-related crime that
  • usually follows a prior conviction which triggers the license revocation.
Minneapolis Driver's License Attorney Thomas Gallagher explains Driving After Revocation
Driver’s License Attorney Thomas Gallagher

Prevention

Avoid driving at all unless you have a valid drivers license.  If the State revokes, suspends or cancels, wait until eligible for reinstatement.  Then apply for reinstatement.

This helps avoid a new driving-related criminal charge.  And it also helps avoid an additional license revocation period.

Penalties

Criminal sanctions

What happens if a police officer catches a person in Minnesota driving without a valid license? Generally that can result in a misdemeanor criminal charge under  Minnesota Statutes Section 171.24. And the maximum penalty is 90 days jail.

license attorney: Your Driver's License Attorney can help prevent a Driving After Revocation conviction.
Your Driver’s License Attorney can help prevent a Driving After Revocation conviction

Normally police will give you a ticket to appear in court, rather than arrest you.

But a misdemeanor is a crime.  And a conviction for a misdemeanor will creates a public criminal record history.  This can cause future employment and other problems.

Without prior similar convictions jail time is rare.  But probation of up to one year is common with jail time hanging over the person’s head.  And a condition of “no same or similar offenses” is normal.

But some people end up getting multiple convictions for Driving After Revocation and similar offenses. 

And jail time is common for repeat offenders.

Another driver’s license revocation

In addition to the criminal sanctions; the court “certifies” a “Driving After” conviction to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.  Minnesota DPS will put it on your driver’s license record.  And DPS will revoke your driver’s license for 30 days or longer (in addition to any other license revocation period). 

Your driver’s license attorney can help prevent a license revocation or suspension.

The Driving After Revocation revolving door

And for some people, this leads to a revolving door problem.

Avoid a Driving After Revocation conviction, and the revolving door
Avoid a Driving After Revocation conviction, and the revolving door

We see it a lot.  It’s a vicious cycle of:

  • convictions for driving without a license,
  • triggers another loss of license, then
  • driving again without a license, and so on.

Many people find it difficult to work and care for their children without driving.

But driving without a license is not a solution.  Because it only makes the problem grow.

There is a way out.  And it begins with preventing a conviction on this Driving After Revocation charge. Let’s break the cycle.

An experienced defense attorney can help solve these problems and help prevent the revolving-door cycle.

The Best Defense

Gallagher Criminal Defense logo sm

To find out the best defense, call driver’s license attorney Thomas Gallagher.  In the meantime, the most powerful defense actions are:

  1. getting Minnesota to reinstate your license,
  2. proof of insurance coverage, and
  3. a good defense attorney representing you.

Questions?  You can call Minneapolis Driver’s License Attorney Thomas Gallagher at 612 333-1500