Driving with a suspended license, a revoked or cancelled license is a driving-related crime that usually follows a prior conviction which trigger the loss of drivers license. It’s best to avoid driving at all unless with a valid drivers license. If revoked, suspended or cancelled, waiting until eligible for reinstatement or an otherwise legal drivers license is important, not only to avoid a new driving-related criminal charge, but also to avoid an additional period of license loss.
If a police officer catches a person in Minnesota driving without a valid license, generally that can result in a misdemeanor criminal charge under Minnesota Statutes Section 171.24, with a maximum penalty of 90 days jail. Without prior similar convictions jail time is rare, but probation of up to one year is common with jail time hanging over the person’s head, with conditions including “no same or similar offenses.” Some people end up getting multiple convictions for Driving After Revocation and similar offenses. Jail time is common for repeat offenders.
Apart from the criminal case sanctions, a Driving After Suspension, Driving After Revocation and similar convictions will normally be certified by the court to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety for inclusion on the drivers license record as well as a 30-day or longer license revocation (in addition to whatever license revocation period is already pending).
This can result, for some people, into a revolving door problem of a cycle of convictions for driving without a license, followed by another loss of license, then driving again without a license, then another conviction, another revocation period, and so on. Many people find it difficult to work and care for their children without driving.
An experienced defense attorney can help solve these problems and in so doing help prevent their repetition.
Questions? You can give a call to Minneapolis Defense Attorney Thomas Gallagher at (612) 333-1500.